Borough Green comes from the Old English ‘grene’ meaning ‘green place’; added to
an earlier place-name of either ‘burh’ as ‘fortification’ or ‘borg’ for ‘borough,
manor, stronghold’.
The position of the village, on the Gravesend to Hastings road, resulted in a number
of inns opening between the 16th and 19th centuries.
Borough Green Railway Station
opened as ‘Wrotham and Borough Green’ on the ‘Sevenoaks, Maidstone and Tonbridge
Railway’s Otford to Maidstone extension, on 1 June 1874. On 18 June 1962, Southern
Region renamed the station to the more logical ‘Borough Green and Wrotham’…. more
Borough Green parish church is dedicated to the Good Shepherd. The villagers built
the church, which the Bishop of Rochester consecrated on 5 July 1906, as a Chapel-of-Ease
to St George’s, Wrotham. Borough Green became a separate ecclesiastical parish in
1976.